#FreeReadFriday

Lately I’ve been diving into the Enneagram. Within the past year or more, a podcast I listen to talked about how much they enjoyed learning more about themselves through the Enneagram. So they talked about a couple of books and I found them on Amazon and ordered them.

The Enneagram

But I didn’t really jump into these books until the past couple of weeks/months. I’ll add the books to the end of this post if you would like to check them out!

My first experience with learning more about myself happened in seminary, we did the Strengths Finder assessment for a leadership course I took. To say this opened my eyes would be an understatement. It blew my mind. I mean I had done the personality tests in the past, but this was different for some reason. To know we all have strengths and to have them named can be a freeing and encouraging experience.

So it has been with the Enneagram recently. As I’ve been reading the books, I’ve been reflecting more on my own interactions and reactions to things going on around me. Whether it is in my interactions with co-workers or family or friends, I’m trying to become more aware of how my personality type can be interpreted by others. I’m also learning a ton about how and why I react and respond the way I do.

It’s also been helpful to read and learn about the other personalities surrounding me. With co-workers, my wife and especially my own kids, I’ve been challenged to look past just the words and actions, to see the underlying personality traits come through in their actions and responses.

So there you have it! Check out the books and spend some time learning about how you have been created and how things in your life have shaped who you are as well. There is something beautiful in this learning, because I think when we learn and explore personalities and who we are, we start to see where God is active and moving in our own lives and personalities, as well as in those around us. We’re better able to sense the Spirit at work and to name and claim it!

Enneagram Books
The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types
Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery

Leave a Reply

