Meaningful Music Monday- Foster the People- Ask Yourself

en.wikipedia.org The Supermodel mural, painted in promotion of the album, located in Los Angeles, California.

This question asks and in some ways answers the big question most of us ask ourselves, or if you haven’t yet, you will! “Is this the life you’ve been waiting for.” Repeated again and again, along with the catchy tune and musical interludes, hit me, for some reason.

I don’t remember exactly when this song stood out to me, most of the time music is on in the background and I tend to focus more on the beat and melody rather than the words. But this day I was listening intently and Foster happened to be on. From the beginning of the song, talking about “floating in line”, “never needed the proof just follow the rules”, and throughout the song it tackles the thoughts and hopes of life in general. Are we just floating through life as the song suggests or is there something more to your life. You have to ask yourself that question…

And this line popped on my radar:

And you say that dreamers always get what they desire.
Well I’ve found, the more I want the less I’ve got.
Is this the life you’ve been waiting for?
Or are you hoping that you’ll be where you want with a little more?

I’m intrigued by these phrases as they continue to ring in my head again and again. When we are young we have a grand idea of what life will be like and if we work hard enough we will achieve that life.

There is a sense, and I know this isn’t the first time this has been said, but the harder we work will give us the best results and we need to strive to be the best at everything. But I struggle with the idea of this. A question I keep coming back to is “What do we miss in the process if all we are looking at is the end goal?” I’m much more excited about the process, the mistakes and the learning than the end goal of life.

I think this song is tapping into the idea of always wanting more and more and missing what is right in front of us. Yeah, this isn’t a new idea, but it is one that caught me by surprise this past week and one that I’m thinking more about in the coming days/weeks/years.

Here’s the song:

Leave a Reply

