Meaningful Music Monday- Future/Past- John Mark McMillan

I was introduced to John Mark McMillan via the David Crowder* Band’s cover of “How He Loves”. McMillan wrote that song and the story behind it is pretty amazing. Ever since then I have been a fan of his. The authenticity of  music which comes from his writing is refreshing to me.  Some would question whether or not he considers himself a “worship” artist, being that one of his most popular songs was something of a worship song, and yet he toes the line so well between writing worship songs for his community and songs that are not meant for worship. McMillan’s new release Boarderland is a mix of both worship inspired and southern rock ‘n roll songs. I can listen to this album from front to back over and over again.

There is one song which sticks out to me above the others, (although a close second on this album is Love at the End. Which is a pretty cool video as well.) Future/Past is the song for Today’s Meaningful Music Monday! Lyrically the metaphors and statements are bent more toward the worship side of things for this song. This song resonates because of the acknowledgement of our future and past. God moving before us, and us recognizing where God was in the past. There is a movement of God within our lives, both in the past and in the future. It’s a humbling idea to think about, and McMillan writes “You ask me to be your friend”, through all of this life, God is asking us to be friends. Check out scriptures for this metaphor and the idea becomes even greater! (John 15:13)

Here is the live version and the lyrics.

Future/Past- John Mark McMillan
You hold the reigns on the sun and the moon
Like horses driven by kings
You cover the mountains, the valleys below
With the breadth of your mighty wings

All treasures of wisdom
And things to be known
Are hidden inside your hand
And in this fortunate turn of events
You ask me to be your friend

And you,
You are my first
You are my last
You are my future and my past

The constellations are swimming inside
The breadth of your desire
So where could I run, where could I hide
From your heart’s jealous fire

All treasures of wisdom
And things to be known
Are hidden inside your hand
And in this fortunate turn of events
You ask me to be your friend

And you,
You are my first
You are my last
You are my future and my past
You are the beginning and the end

 

Leave a Reply

