Meaningful Music Monday: Lorde- Royals

Lorde was one of those artists I jumped on after all the hoopla when she first released her album. I saw her perform on an awards show and I was intrigued. Simplistic. Eclectic. Those are words that come to my mind both about her performance and her record.

That was an intriguing Grammy performance. So intriguing that I ended up buying the album the following week. I like the beat of the song, the energy from a simplistic track like this is something to admire, and made me think more about the lyrics.

As I read through the lyrics, it struck me that this song was a commentary on the pop culture around us. The desires to have more of this or more of that, or the next best thing. We all fall into the trap of consuming everything around us and not caring about much else. I appreciate that a young artist like Lorde recognizes the irony of being famous and at the same time staying “rooted” in the reality surrounding her. (I have heard a bit of some criticism surrounding Lorde now that she is “big time”, but that just makes her story even more intriguing.)

There is a sense of contentment within the lyrics and music. A sense of happiness and satisfaction even in the midst of the societal pressures to achieve more. This certainly is not a ground breaking understanding of this song, as Lorde herself has talked about it in interviews, but I find it meaningful in the sense of the simplicity and ideas surrounding what makes us happy and satisfied.

“Royals”- Lorde

I’ve never seen a diamond in the flesh
I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies
And I’m not proud of my address,
In a torn-up town, no postcode envy

But every song’s like gold teeth, grey goose, trippin’ in the bathroom
Blood stains, ball gowns, trashin’ the hotel room,
We don’t care, we’re driving Cadillacs in our dreams.
But everybody’s like Cristal, Maybach, diamonds on your timepiece.
Jet planes, islands, tigers on a gold leash.
We don’t care, we aren’t caught up in your love affair.And we’ll never be royals (royals).
It don’t run in our blood,
That kind of luxe just ain’t for us.
We crave a different kind of buzz.
Let me be your ruler (ruler),
You can call me queen Bee
And baby I’ll rule, I’ll rule, I’ll rule, I’ll rule.
Let me live that fantasy.My friends and I—we’ve cracked the code.
We count our dollars on the train to the party.
And everyone who knows us knows that we’re fine with this,
We didn’t come from money.

But every song’s like gold teeth, grey goose, trippin’ in the bathroom.
Blood stains, ball gowns, trashin’ the hotel room,
We don’t care, we’re driving Cadillacs in our dreams.
But everybody’s like Cristal, Maybach, diamonds on your timepiece.
Jet planes, islands, tigers on a gold leash
We don’t care, we aren’t caught up in your love affair

And we’ll never be royals (royals).
It don’t run in our blood
That kind of luxe just ain’t for us.
We crave a different kind of buzz.
Let me be your ruler (ruler),
You can call me queen Bee
And baby I’ll rule, I’ll rule, I’ll rule, I’ll rule.
Let me live that fantasy.

Ooh ooh oh
We’re bigger than we ever dreamed,
And I’m in love with being queen.
Ooh ooh oh
Life is great without a care
We aren’t caught up in your love affair.

And we’ll never be royals (royals).
It don’t run in our blood
That kind of luxe just ain’t for us.
We crave a different kind of buzz
Let me be your ruler (ruler),
You can call me queen Bee
And baby I’ll rule, I’ll rule, I’ll rule, I’ll rule.
Let me live that fantasy.

 

Are you a Lorde fan? Why or why not?

Leave a Reply

