Meaningful Music Monday- Vice Verses

Welcome to a new set of posts I’ll be putting out on Mondays (not every Monday…), reflecting on a song which has struck me as meaningful in the past couple of weeks.

Where is God in the night sky?
Where is God in the city light?
Where is God in the earthquake?
Where is God in the genocide?

Where are you in my broken heart?
Everything seems to fall apart
Everything feels rusted over
Tell me that you’re there

Jon Foreman- Switchfoot- Vice Versus

This song has recently become one that I have come to appreciate a bit more. I’m not sure why this song has struck a chord with me lately. Maybe it’s the worship note questions coming from the confirmation youth at church, searching for meaning to life and the chaos of death, natural disasters, etc. Maybe it’s become more of a reality to me that life is filled with both good and bad, picking up and moving from the comfort of Minnesota and jobs of 10 years, a great neighborhood etc.

Whatever the reason, it is a beautiful reminder that in the midst of all the chaos, transitions, death and life God is there. In the midst of the life happening around us, both good or bad God is constant. I think life changes when we are able to better understand this. Like really understand this.

What do I mean by understading? I’m not real sure, but I know it’s not using the easy statements to explain why…cliches like “God works through everything” or “God is testing you” or “God needed another angel”. (What do those things mean anyway?)

The understanding I’m thinking about maybe is best describe as the idea of having peace. Yep, maybe another bad cliche, but there is a sense of peace, even within the chaos of life. There is some meaning to it all, it may not be a good meaning, but there is meaning to life.

I know that there’s a meaning to it all
A little resurrection every time I fall
You got your babies, I got my hearses
Every blessing comes with a set of curses
I got my vices, I got my vice verses
These are my vice verses
These are my vice verses

“because of the tender mercy of our God, by which the rising sun will come to us from heaven to shine on those living in darkness and in the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the path of peace.” (Luke 1:78, 79 NIV)

So many good reminders of “God with us…”

What are your reminders? Through the highs and the lows how has God been shown to you?

Leave a Reply

