Shine Like the Stars

So I now know how to get people to read my blog: resign.

Shine

Ok, so that isn’t so funny, but I was surprised and humbled by the support from people after posting my resignation letter from Bethel on Monday.

This has been quite the process in recent weeks. From a Skype interview, to formal interview, letting the staff know and letting the congregation know, it seems to be a bit of a whirlwind. I have found myself reading messages from friends on Facebook giving my family and I encouragement, wondering how in the world 10 years have gone by in what seems like a blink of an eye.

Bethel has been a great home for me these past 10 years. From a college grad looking for a job, to having my masters degree for CYF Ministry, Bethel has supported Amy and I in more ways than can be expressed in this blog post. We are thankful for the many families at Bethel who have supported us in raising our two children, and for helping us grow in our faith. The youth when I began at Bethel are now getting married, having kids and working WITH Amy at the hospital. It’s crazy! There have been many ups and downs through the years and I’m thankful for those experiences.

As we have reflected on the past weeks, we know this transition will be challenging for both our family and Bethel. But through all of this, we have felt a sense of peace. I don’t like to over spiritualize things, but God is working through this process to bring new things for both our family and for Bethel. We have a trust that things will continue to work out in His way, even if we do not know what is next, God is working.

This is not the end
This is not the end of us
We will shine like the stars bright, brighter

-Lisa Gungor This Is Not the End

These song lyrics above struck me this week as I continued to think about the end of our season at Bethel and the beginning of a new season at First. This is not the end, this is a new beginning for us to shine!

My hope is in the next weeks to reflect on where God has been and where God is leading and to be able to both grieve the leaving of a great community, and at the same time rejoice in the newness of life!

Thanks for your prayers and thoughts in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

