LEAGUES

LEAGUES 

You-Belong-Here-cover

Leagues was a band I heard about from the Relevant Podcast a while back. Or may be it was on The Current. Or maybe because they toured with Jars of Clay. Seems like they are everywhere…

And it just so happens that they are highlighted on the Relevant Podcast in an interview with Thad Cockrall this week as well. So it seems fitting that LEAGUES has been in my rotation in recent weeks. Here is a blip from their website…

LEAGUES is infectious. The ten tracks that make up their forthcoming January debut, You Belong Here, encourage both dancing and introspection, and show a group of men leaving behind any preconceived notions or expectations but never their innate musicianship or love for the craft of songwriting. “I’m not inspired by artists,” says Thad. “As much as I’m inspired by songs.” Tears for Fears’ “Everybody Wants to Rule the World.” “Wanna be Startin’ Somethin’” by Michael Jackson. “Songs that stop the room for a quick second,” adds Jeremy. One listen to the swirling, rock-pop anthem “Mind Games,” the electric thump of “Magic” or the locomotive doo-wop of “Spotlight” and it’s clear that LEAGUES’ music does the same. Just try and keep your toes from tapping.

“I’m not inspired by artists, as much as I’m inspired by songs.” Never really thought about that before I read this on their site. Sometimes this happens for me, other times if I know the artist, I have a more critical ear. On the other hand,  I can listen to music and have no idea who the artist is, but I connect with a song and I’m hooked. Whether it is a catchy hook, guitar line or the lyrics, I connect with music that moves me.

Leagues’ “You Belong Here” is a lyrically rich song with a great melody with which you will no doubt be singing along to after one listen. But it is within the lyrics that tend to connect with me the most.

You try to run
But it will find you
its right behind you
We’ve been chased by love
Lift up your eyes
Turn down the noise
Be where you are and
Let it all begin
You’d be a fool to fight it

This song connects to me. I can’t pinpoint the exact reason, but when looking more at the lyrics, the above lyrics connect. We are all searching for a belonging and for someone to say you belong here, no matter who we are is important. “We’ve been chased by love/Lift up your eyes/ Turn down the noise.” I need to do this, I need love to catch me and I need to be reminded to turn down the noise and connect with those around me.

Wherever Leagues goes from here, I’ll be listening and hoping to connect with their style of music and the lyrics which connect on a deeper level of meaning for me.

How do you connect with music? Does knowing who the artist is make a difference?

Leave a Reply

