Rend Collective Experiment & God’s Kingdom

I have always enjoyed worship music. I had my start in high school when I was invited to be on the contemporary music team at my home church in Wells. We sang once a month and I was mentored by some great singers and learned a lot along the way. Then in college I sang on the worship team for InterVarsity Campus Ministry for a couple of years. All the while during the summers I was learning to play guitar and leading campfire worships. I owe a lot of my guitar skills to those summers.

Now I am part of two “worship bands” at Bethel. One is Three Days Later our youth band and the other is In Between a new “worship band” which will be playing “in between” worship on Sunday, November 18th. I get excited rehearsing with these groups as I get to sing and play worship songs with great people.

Every once in a while I get really excited about a band I’m listening to. For the past couple of months, I’ve become a huge fan of Rend Collective Experiment. They are passionate about worship music, people and being creative. In the video below they talk about their passion of being a collective and creating together.

The people are more important than the music, art or apparent success.

Above all created things God calls us a work of art.

So not only are they amazingly creative people and a collective of passionate people, they are great musicians and I really like their music. If I were to look at the stats on my iPhone the number of times listened to, Rend Collective would be at the top.  (Right next to Chris Tomlin…just kidding…that’s another post another time!)There are just times when I need to sit back and listen to their music because it inspires me to be more creative with what I am doing, and to reconnect with worship in a different way.

One of the songs which inspires me over and over is “Build Your Kingdom Here”. The video below is the official music video.

The third verse resonates with me.

Unleash Your kingdom’s pow’r
Reaching the near and far
No force of hell can stop
Your beauty changing hearts
You made us for much more than this
Awake the kingdom seed in us
Fill us with the strength and love of Christ
We are Your church
We are the hope on earth

I’ve been thinking a lot along the lines of the Kingdom of God and what it means. Specifically what it means to bring the Kingdom of God to earth, through God’s people. We each have a seed of the Kingdom within us. God has planted it there to grow and created us to act on it! The Kingdom of God is not some far off place where we will eventually go, but God’s Kingdom is here or is coming here, and we are the people God will use to bring His Kingdom!  We say as much in the Lord’s Prayer, “Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as in heaven.”  Incredible, God using us to bring His Kingdom! That is exciting!

Okay off my soapbox, kind of, please check out Rend Collective Experiment, it will be well worth your time! Also we’ll be singing at least one of their songs, actually the above song on November 18th In Between here at Bethel and would love for you to join us in worship.

What music moves you? In what ways do you agree with the statement “God’s Kingdom is here”? In what ways to you disagree? I’m curious…

Leave a Reply

