The End DC*B (Part 1)

It was at a youth workers conference in the Chicagoland area. A fellow youth worker and I had signed up to attend this conference, really I signed up because he thought it was a good idea. Nevertheless we drove the 8hrs or so from Rochester to Chicago, checked into our hotel room and heading to the conference. That night I was introduced to a new pioneer in worship music, David Crowder*Band.

Let me set the stage a bit more. I like music a lot. For much of my late teenager/college life, I listened to almost nothing but Christian music. Christian music at that time was much different than now. Most of the music from that time which came from the Christian music market, had to have some sort of positive message attached to it, or it wasn’t considered “Chrisitan”. I followed the emergence of the “worship” music we know today. How bands would come out with a “worship” album as an add on to their career of rock n’ roll. This was the lens of which I saw music, it had to have a positive message or I didn’t listen to it. (I’m glad I’ve added a lens to those glasses which has given me the ability to see what good music is. Wow that didn’t sound snooty now did it?)

I had gone to far too many music festivals where a guy with a guitar would come out on stage and play. He was talented and good looking, always smiling, reading heartfelt scriptures that impacted his life, which then led to him writing the next worship song. (Not to sound to critical of someone’s own experiences, I was moved by many of the songs and related scriptures.) My point is there was barely any variety of what they were singing about, or how they were singing. I became disengaged with the whole worship leader guy/guitar/back up band setting. I became a cynic of most any worship band out there and wanted them to stop. Their music all sounded the same. (Thanks Jon Acuff for this great tool.)

That is until DC*B. When they started their set eight years ago, sure I saw a guy with a guitar come out to the front of the stage, I thought to myself, here we go…But then I saw turntables. Yeah the ones often found at clubs, not churches, clubs. Turntables being scratched and worked seamlessly into the music being played, the worship music being played.

From that day on I purchased most everything the band put out, Illuminate being the first. All the EPs and remixes were a breath of fresh air for me when thinking about worship music in general.  These guys were talented! I remember when they were recording Remedy they set up 9 different web cameras of the studio live and anyone was able to watch the guys at work. I signed in to their “tiny chat” and was able to chat with “marktheshark”. I didn’t know of another band willing to do this and was excited to get to interact. Remedy has become one of my favorite albums, and the live version made me extremely disappointed that my wife and I did not make the trek down to Chicago to see it live.

However I did not make that mistake when their next tour came around, the 7 Tour was going to be in Minneapolis and I was going to get tickets. I ordered tickets to the October show at First Ave in Minneapolis on April, 26th the first day they were available. This also happens to be my anniversary, what a great anniversary gift for my wife (oh and me too)!

More on that tomorrow or the next day, but for now here is a question:

Do you/did you have the same feeling of worship music? If so what are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

